Butter, Toothbrushes, and 3 other everyday items you need for your hair

I sit writing this with a bag of skittles at my side and my phone, although I’m trying my best not to look at it in case I get distracted. With more and more beauty product for black hair on the aisles of your nearby Beauty Supply Store, it’s easier than ever to find what brand you need. Although I flock to my corner store to buy my products (which reminds me that I’m out of leave-in conditioner), sometime’s it’s hard to figure out what you should buy, and what you can do without.

Do I really need cleansing, moisturizing, and co-washing conditioner? And what’s the difference between the two anyway?

As I look through the countless hair products I own, I saw a few that I think everyone should have.

Toothbrushes

If you’re like me, you have trouble throwing away anything out. If you have an old toothbrush, you can clean it and use it to lay your edges flat. Buying a new one would work just the same.

Image result for lay your edges down

The steps are pretty simple:

  1. Spritz your hair with water
  2. Use an edge control product like Cantu: Edge Control. If you don’t have one, a thick oil like castor oil will do just fine.
  3. Create a little swirl pattern using the toothbrush
  4. Hold it down with a head scarf for 20 minutes until dry

The trick is to tilt the toothbrush towards your face to create the swirl pattern.

Hair Butter

This is basically a sealant, which is something that’s used to seal the moisture within your hair. In the colder months when there’s dry air, this is super useful to avoid your hair becoming dry, brittle and (gasp!) split ends.

Hair Butter can be used for:

  • Protective styles like twist outs or buns
  • an edge control product
  • keeping hair hydrated

Be careful about applying too much product, as it can weigh your hair down! As always, less is more.

If you’re curious about the rest of the products, read Part 2 for more.


If you have something to say or if I missed any, tell me in the comments below!

One thought on “Butter, Toothbrushes, and 3 other everyday items you need for your hair

Leave a Reply

